The first 24 hours

Well, I made it! I’ve been in Alaska about 24 hours and I still can’t believe it. I landed in Anchorage around 11:30 p.m. AKDT (that would be around 3:30 a.m. Cincinnati time) Saturday night and, thanks to the 20 hours of daylight around here, easily found my way to the hostel where I’ll be staying for a few nights. It was a tiring day–I flew from Cincinnati to Houston to Seattle to Anchorage–but I couldn’t sleep on the planes and wasn’t as tired as I should have been when I finally reached Anchorage. Maybe it’s the excitement… or the fact that I’m a highly adaptive night owl. This extended daylight program Mother Nature has going out here is like crack cocaine to a late-night junkie like me. At 10 p.m., it looks like 4 p.m., which makes me think I can stay up another five or six hours. Eventually, I plan to sleep. But for now, I’m still reveling in the fact that I’m actually in Alaska!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The first 24 hours

  1. Katie says:

    I wish I could’ve packed myself in your suitcase. These photos are great, girl. Keep them coming!

  2. Jathan says:

    Wow, so there really is a place for night owls like us! Enjoy the sun and the spectacular sights! And Katie is right, your photos are phenomenal. I’m very impressed!

Leave a Reply

