On the road again

One of my favorite things to do in Alaska was just… drive! I should have kept better track of all those miles, but–ball-park estimate–I think traveled somewhere around 2,700 miles by car. Sometimes I’d have a home-base and would make day trips, returning late in the evening to whatever hostel I was staying at, making the most out of the evening daylight hours. (I was always the last person to get to bed in the shared rooms I had, and often among the last few to get out the next day by 8 or 9 a.m.). Other days entailed long drives to the next destination. I was constantly taking photos along the way, either over the steering wheel or via quick pull-offs to the side of the road. I’d photograph roadside flowers, mountains, curious signs (my favorite is the Tundra Tanning and Taxidermy sign), roadside businesses (blue poppies, mug-shot saloon, knives, knives, KNIVES!) and loved it when the train would pop up parallel to the highway, its riders waving from the windows. I encountered numerous construction delays along Highway 3, which was sometimes torn down to its dirt base, and accumulated a lot of bug guts on that yellow bug of a car. Speaking of that yellow car, I racked up so many miles on it that I had to swap it out for another vehicle when it was due for an oil change (luckily, I was passing through Anchorage where I’d rented it in the first place, but I was sad to part with it!) I probably had too much time on my hands as I consumed oodles of daylight hours on the road, but I’d find myself pondering deep questions, like, you know, why does Smokey the Bear wear pants, but no shirt?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

